Skip to main content

Reviews Here's what our lovely guests have to say....

  • Julia, Berkshire July 2021

    Wonderful base for a stay- deserves all the top reviews!

    Quite a magical place to stay. Super hosts, gorgeous suite and delicious breakfasts .

    Grounds are beautiful and lots of peaceful places to relax when you’re not out and about.

    Some of the best nights sleep we’ve enjoyed.

    We would definitely return and thought Dumfries and Galloway county and the Solway coast a great place for a week’s stay.

  • Hannah, Malmesbury June 2021

    Amazing Honeymoon!

    We stayed at Nithbank for the final two nights of our honeymoon and could not have been more delighted.

    The house and surroundings are breathtaking – the perfect spot to while away a few hours walking or drinking tea watching all the local wildlife.

    We stayed in the ‘Chamberlains Quarters’ which was the perfect combination of comfort and luxury.

    Nithbank is full of thoughtful luxuries – local soap and tartan chocolate and delectable homemade goodies on arrival.

    We felt completely spoilt – we cannot wait to come back!

  • Joyce, Lancashire June 2021

    Magical!

    We’ve just returned from a 4 night stay at the magical Nithbank

    Fabulous room , wonderful grounds to wander in stunning scenery , lovely food.

    Melanie & John are wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble for them.

    Can’t wait to return.

  • Greg, London June 2021

    What a View!

    Very impressed with our stay at Nithbank we can see why it has fantastic reviews.

    We had a lovely welcome from Melanie and enjoyed the delicious scones. Our room had fabulous views, just like a picture postcard!

    The room was beautifully furnished and modern bathroom with a great powerful shower. Breakfast was delicious and served in the dining room.

    Sadly we only stayed one night but would love to return.

  • Mark, Malvern June 2021

    Relaxing & Peaceful

    My wife and I stayed at Nithbank for three nights in order to visit relatives in nearby Ae. Beautiful grounds, superb room and furnished with period furniture and fantastic views. And a breakfast of class to set you up for each day.

    Most of all excellent hosting from Melanie and John, who add the special touch to make your stay memorable. Will stay again when we are next up.

  • Treena, Kings Lynn June 2021

    Relaxing & Luxurious

    Nithbank offered a slice of tranquility from our busy world.

    The property, gardens, Melanie and John were all outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Perfectly placed for a relaxing and luxurious break.

  • Ed, London June 2021

    An Amazing Place, A Superb Experience – We cannot wait to go back!

    Nithbank was sensational.

    The room was perfect, the views are incredible and Melanie and John the perfect hosts.

    An ideal getaway and a brilliant stay.

    We felt welcomed, cared for and like nothing was too much trouble.

    Nithbank is found in a lovely part of Scotland with plenty to do nearby.

  • Lesley, Glasgow June 2021

    Bliss!

    Gorgeous accommodation with every need catered for. Melanie and John have the perfect balance of attentiveness without intrusion. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights in June with fantastic breakfasts and gorgeous surroundings.

    The scones or arrival were a welcome treat.

    Thanks both for making us feel so welcome

  • Craig, London June 2021

    Outstanding indeed!

    The only reason that we have given Nithbank five stars is that we aren’t allowed to give it six.

    Hosts Melanie & John are determined to deliver a truly exceptional experience to their guests and in that they succeed admirably.

    The house, originally of 1790, has been sensitively restored avoiding caledonian clichés and achieving an individual interpretation of traditional luxury. The views from all of the windows are of bucolic majesty, augmented by their own small heard of ‘belties’ (Belted Galloway cattle). Of particular note is their commitment to locally based food business and environmental concerns as exemplified by the Biosphere initiative which deserves to be more widely recognised. Nithbank provides an excellent base from which to explore the Gallovidian region, itself a revelation. The nearest town of Thornhill is charming although sadly lacking in decent eateries.

    In terms of local dining options, we tried several and the best by far was the Auldgirth Inn where you can eat excellent dry aged ‘beltie’ beef. John provided the Range Rover transport which was very much appreciated and yet another example of the outstanding level of service and attention that we enjoyed.

    We would heartily endorse the superlatives expressed by other reviewers. Nithbank defines a new standard in hospitality and has been justifiably recognised with numerous awards. Our thanks once again to Melanie & John; you deserve only the best for your extraordinary efforts.

  • Katherine, Edinburgh May 2021

    A wonderful luxurious stay

    We have just had four nights at Nithbank Estate, staying in the Chamberlain’s Quarters, a beautiful room with views from the large bay window over the river Nith to the hills in the distance.

    The thoughtfully placed chair in the side window was a brilliant place to curl up with a book on our one rainy afternoon, as it gave more views of river, fields and hills and, below, a busy bird feeding station! The very large bed was extremely comfortable, the duvet was perfect for the current temperature, but there were blankets and other bedding provided as an option, lovely towels and a large bathroom with both power shower and slipper bath. Tea and coffee bags, fresh milk, a Nespresso machine, shortbread…… and those welcome scones!

    We were made to feel at home from the first warm greeting as we arrived to the “Haste Ye Back” as we left. Melanie and John have thought of everything that you might want in the room and in the small library on the half landing, full of books and maps, both local and more generally for Scotland. In the boot room downstairs there are rows of macs, long and short, wellies and even field glasses for guests to use.

    We took advantage of Melanie’s offer of supper the first night, with soup and a wonderful spread of Italian Antipasti, it was a perfect welcome meal. Each morning we managed to surprise ourselves by tucking into a range of imaginative and beautifully presented breakfast options – it was too irresistible, and we would return again and again for the Cranachan!

    Nothing was too much effort for Melanie and John, running us into Thornhill for dinner on two evenings, researching information on what castles, houses, gardens and other attractions were now open and which were probably still shut, and we were able to have full days of seeing much of what is on offer in this part of Dumfriesshire (quite a lot).

    The walks around the estate and further afield offered enormous scope for seeing so much more of the countryside, the gardens closer to the house are being thoughtfully and carefully restored and John and Melanie have exciting plans for all the future developments on the estate.
    What a fabulous place to stay!

Try Something Different Making Memories Last Forever

Relax and sleep peacefully in our spacious bedrooms, then choose from our extensive breakfast menu and enjoy your freshly prepared breakfast in our bright guest dining room